In short, you can’t; you can only disassociate yourself from the account and block access to it.
By design, blockchains are meant to be an uneditable record of everything that happens on that particular blockchain. Therefore, once an address, or account, is created on a blockchain, that information exists forever and cannot be removed, or in this case, deleted.
Your Valora account can always be recovered by its paired Recovery Phrase. If you might ever wish to retrieve the account please write down the Recovery Phrase and store it in a safe location. Otherwise, if you would like to permanently block access to this account, then you will need to destroy or delete any copies of your Recovery Phrase. Please note, Valora does not store any copies of Recovery Phrases and cannot help you restore your account.
Additionally, the data that is personalized to you — including your phone number, photo, and name — is encrypted and stored entirely on your mobile device. Once you uninstall the app this information will also be deleted.
Below are instructions to disassociate your personal data from your Valora account
- Go to Menu > Settings
- Tap 5 times on the Settings title
- Look for the notification for “Debug Mode Activated”
- Scroll down and tap “Revoke Number Verification”.*
- Enter PIN
- Move your funds out of the account**
- Uninstall the app
*Phone number revocation requires a network fee of .01 cUSD to process the request. If you have .01 cUSD and receive an error, then your number may not be connected. You can skip to steps 6 & 7.
**This is optional, but be aware that any funds left in the account may be permanently lost
Once these steps are completed your data will no longer be associated with this account; it will simply be a number stored on the blockchain. No further action is required.
Want to learn more? Check out our article on Understanding Valora's self-custodial nature